Arias for Bass (Vocal Score)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

In stock

J S Bach Arias for Bass (Vocal Score)

The world of Bach’s cantatas resembles a vast universe encompassing and subsuming all the musical forms that had come to fruition by the age of the baroque: the church hymn, the motet, the madrigal, the concerto, the Italian chamber cantata and even dance music, not to mention the two major components of opera: aria and recitative.  Equipped with this wealth of forms and modes of expression, the cantata became the central genre of eighteenth-century Lutheran church music.

With these four volumes editor Charlotte Lehman presents a cross-section from the 220 extant cantatas for soprano, alto, tenor and bass voices.   Based on the Urtext of the New Bach Edition each volume contains a detailed booklet with notes on performance practice and suggestions for teaching.

- Bass voice and piano

- Urtext of the New Bach Edition

Lehmann, Charlotte
Baerenreiter Germany
Bass solo, Piano


  1. Ich folge Christo nach from "Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen" BWV 12, No. 5: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  2. Gute Nacht, du Weltgetümmel from "Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende" BWV 27, No. 5: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  3. Höllische Schlange, wird dir nicht bange from "Darzu ist erschienen der Sohn Gottes" BWV 40, No. 4: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  4. Ja, ja, ich kann die Feinde schlagen from "Selig ist der Mann" BWV 57, No. 5: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  5. Ach, soll nicht dieser grosse Tag - Seligster Erquickungstag from "Wachet! betet! betet! wachet!" BWV 70, No. 9: Recitativo e No. 10: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  6. Ach, unser Wille bleibt verkehrt - Herr, so du willt from "Herr, wie du willt, so schick's mit mir" BWV 73, No. 3: Recitativo e No. 4 Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  7. Ich habe genung - Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen from "Ich habe genung" BWV 82, No. 2: Recitativo e No. 3: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  8. Fürwahr, wenn mir das kömmet ein from "Herr Jesu Christ, du höchstes Gut" BWV 113, No. 3: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  9. Der alte Drache brennt vor Neid from "Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir" BWV 130, No. 3: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  10. Hat man nicht mit seinen Kindern from "Schweiget stille, plaudert nicht" BWV 211, No. 2: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  11. Kron und Preis gekrönter Damen from "Tönet, ihr Pauken! Erschallet, Trompeten!" BWV 214, No. 7: Aria [Bach, Johann Sebastian]

Additional Information

Baroque Period
Bass Voice
English, German