Cantata No.12: Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen (BWV 12) (Vocal Score)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

In stock

J S Bach Cantata No.12: Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen (BWV 12) (Vocal Score)

Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen (Weeping, crying, sorrow, sighing) BWV 12
Cantata for the Sunday Jubilate

Our editions of Bach Cantatas offer the authoritative text of the New Bach Edition meeting Bärenreiter Urtext standards.  No group of works in Johann Sebastian Bach’s output is as wide-ranging as the cantatas. This is hardly surprising considering that for over five years Bach was required to compose a work, or at least re-work an existing one, for every Sunday and festival of the church year, as well as for numerous secular occasions such as council inaugurations, school and university celebrations and royal birthdays.

Unfortunately, not all cantatas have survived. However, over 200 sacred and secular works exist and form a corpus of works suitable for all possible occasions. This rich musical heritage is still as relevant today as it was then.

Baerenreiter Germany
Alto solo, Tenor solo, Bass solo, Mixed choir (SATB), Orchestra

Additional Information

Baroque Period
Mixed Voices
English, German