Cantata No.21: Ich hatte viel Bekuemmernis (BWV 21) (Vocal Score)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

In stock

J S Bach Cantata No. 21: Ich hatte viel Bekuemmernis (Lord my God, my heart and soul were sore distrest) (BWV 21) Vocal Score (Ger/Eng)

The cantata “Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis” dates from around 1713 and was probably performed for the first time that year in the Liebfrauenkirche in Halle.  Its assigning to the third Sunday after Trinity probably only occurred the following year. 

With its large-scale structure and strong emphasis on biblical texts, it was extremely popular in the 19th century and remains one of Bach’s best-known cantatas today. 

The cantata is published here with a vocal score based on the New Bach Edition with an idiomatic, straightforward piano reduction by Martin Focke.
- One of Bach’s best-known cantatas.

- Urtext based on the “ New Bach Edition”.

- Clear straightforward piano reduction.

- Study score format 22.5 x 16.5cm (TP1021), vocal score (BA10021-90) & performance material (BA10021) available for sale

Moreen, Robert
Baerenreiter Germany
Soprano solo, Alto solo, Tenor solo, Bass solo, Mixed choir (SATB), Orchestra


  1. 1. Sinfonia [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  2. 2. Chorus: Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis / Lord, my God, my heart and soul [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  3. 3. Aria: Seufzer, Tränen, Kummer, Not / Sighing, weeping, sorrow, care [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  4. 4. Recitativo: Wie hast du dich, mein Gott / Why hast Thou then, my God [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  5. 5. Aria: Bäche von gesalznen Zähren / From my eyes salt tears are flowing [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  6. 6. Chorus: Was betrübst du dich, meine Seele / What doth trouble thee, o my spirit [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  7. 7. Recitativo: Ach Jesu, meine Ruh / Ah, Jesus, my repose [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  8. 8. Aria Duetto: Komm, mein Jesu, und erquicke / Come, my Jesus and restore me [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  9. 9. Chorus: Sei nun wieder zufrieden / Come again and be rested [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  10. 10. Aria: Erfreue dich, Seele / Rejoice O my spirit [Bach, Johann Sebastian]
  11. 11. Chorus: Das Lamm, das erwürget ist / The Lamb that was sacrificed [Bach, Johann Sebastian]

Additional Information

Baroque Period
Mixed Voices
English, German