Rêverie et caprice (Violin & Piano)

Berlioz, Hector

In stock

Berlioz Rêverie et caprice.  Romance for Violin (Violin & Piano)

Written in 1841 and based on material from his opera “Benvenuto Cellini”, “Rêverie et caprice” is one of Berlioz’ most popular works and was performed by nearly every great violinist in the 19th century: Ferdinand David, Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst, Henri Wieniawski and Joseph Joachim.

These new publications reproduce the works as they will appear in the Urtext “New Berlioz Edition” volume.

The versions for violin and piano and violin and orchestra are not identical.  As an aid to performers wanting to study and rehearse the work using the piano version, the solo violin part from the orchestral version has also been included as an additional part with the violin and piano publication.

- Urtext of the New Berlioz Edition

- Urtext editions of both versions of Berlioz’ masterpiece

- Solo violin part from the orchestral version also given as an extra part in the violin / piano edition

- Informative preface (French/English/German) by Hugh Macdonald, General Editor of the New Berlioz Edition

- Full score, parts (BA5798) and Violin & Piano reduction (BA5798-90) available for sale

Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Romantic Period