Iphigénie en Aulide (Vocal Score)

Gluck, Christoph Willibald

In stock

Gluck Iphigénie en Aulide (Vocal Score)

Tragedy - Opera in three acts

Iphigénie en Aulide is the first of six operas that Gluck composed for the Académie Royale de Musique.  In keeping with his plans for operatic reform, he sought to create noble, expressive and natural melodies that did justice to every language and every national spirit while eliminating the “ridiculous distinction” between national styles of music.  Although the première was coolly received at first by the contemporary press, “Iphigénie” developed into a tremendous success.  The onrush of listeners was said to have been so great that the management of the Paris Opéra considered placing guards in front of the theatre.

Now Bärenreiter is issuing the carefully revised and corrected vocal score in a new engraving adapted to meet their current standards.

- Revised and newly engraved

- Detailed foreword (Ger/Fr/Eng) on the work’s genesis and reception history, together with a summary of the plot

- Practical, straight-forward piano reduction

- Performance material available for hire (BA5849-72)

Flothuis, Marius
Baerenreiter Germany
Soprano solo (5), Tenor solo, Baritone solo, Bass solo (3), Mixed choir, Orchestra

Additional Information

Baroque Period
Mixed Voices
French, German