Children's Corner arranged for Woodwind Quintet

Debussy, Claude

In stock

Debussy Children's Corner arranged for Woodwind Quintet (Score & Parts)
Flute, Oboe, Clarinet (in B-flat), Horn, Bassoon

The original Children’s Corner for piano was written between 1906 and 1908.  Debussy dedicated the work to his daughter Chouchou, who at the time had just turned three.  Two of his special preferences – finger exercises and Richard Wagner – found their way into his piano music through this suite in the amusing Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum and Golliwog’s Cakewalk.  The reference to Clementi in the first piece, Doctor Gradus ad parnassum, may allude to the piano lessons Chouchou would soon be taking.  The English title is explained not only by Debussy’s fondness for England but perhaps also by the fact that his daughter was being brought up by and English governess named Miss Gibbs.

With its five contrasting instruments, this arrangement for woodwind quintet is particularly well suited for bringing out the vivid brilliance of Debussy’s music.

Linckelmann, Joachim
Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum [Debussy, Claude]
  2. Jimbo's Lullaby [Debussy, Claude]
  3. Serenade for the doll [Debussy, Claude]
  4. The snow is dancing [Debussy, Claude]
  5. The little Shepherd [Debussy, Claude]
  6. Golliwogg's cake-walk [Debussy, Claude]

Additional Information

20th Century
Wind Quintet