Complete String Quintets

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

In stock

Mozart Complete String Quintets (Parts)

The four quintets that Mozart wrote between 1787 and 1791 – K.515, K.516, K.593 and K.614 – may be said to have made history: they became models for a newly emerging genre, the string quintet with two violas.

By great good fortune, all of Mozart's quintets have survived in autograph score, apart from six bars of the G minor Quintet K.516.

Here we present all six in the Urtext of the New Mozart Edition.  The study score (TP159) contains an extensive introduction (German/English) with sections on the history of the genre, historical background, the evolutionary stages of the quintets, and detailed comments on each work. There is also an appendix with sketches, rejected versions, and fragments.

- Urtext of the New Mozart Edition

- Parts (BA4771) and study score format 22.5 x 16.5cm (TP159) available for sale

Hess, Ernst , Schmid, Ernst Fritz , Schmid, Manfred Hermann
Baerenreiter Germany


  1. String Quintet in B-flat major K.174 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  2. String Quintet in C major K.515 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  3. String Quintet in G minor K.516 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  4. String Quintet in C minor K.406 (516b) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  5. String Quintet in D major K.593 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  6. String Quintet in E-flat major K.614 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]

Additional Information