Complete Works for Violin & Basso Continuo

Handel, George Frideric

In stock

Handel Complete Works for Violin & Basso Continuo

Handel returned repeatedly throughout his life to the composition of works for violin and basso continuo.  The earliest autograph, HWV 358, was composed around 1707, his last work for this combination of instruments, the Sonata in D major, HWV 371, stems from circa 1750.

In addition to the 5 sonatas, which have survived as autographs, there are 4 other sonatas of a spurious nature which have found a place in the violin repertoire under Handel’s name although they are certainly not from his pen.  These sonatas are attempts by other unknown composers to make a name by using the style of the great master.  To round off this first ever publication of Handel's Complete Works for Violin and Basso continuo, there are two movements currently not available in any other performing edition: the Allegro, HWV 408 and an Andante, HWV 412.

The Authoritative Performing Edition

- Edition with the recently-revised Urtext of the Halle Handel Edition

- First ever performing edition of the complete works for violin and basso continuo in one volume

- With separate violin and continuo bass parts, the latter with figures

- Basso continuo part with figures including 2 movements not available in any other performing edition

- Includes valuable comments on performance practice

Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Sonata in G major HWV 358 [Handel, George Frideric]
  2. Sonata in D minor HWV 359 [Handel, George Frideric]
  3. Sonata in A major HWV 361 [Handel, George Frideric]
  4. Sonata in G minor HWV 364 [Handel, George Frideric]
  5. Sonata in D major HWV 371 [Handel, George Frideric]
  6. Sonata in G minor HWV 368 [Handel, George Frideric]
  7. Sonata in F major HWV 370 [Handel, George Frideric]
  8. Sonata in A major HWV 372 [Handel, George Frideric]
  9. Sonata in E major HWV 373 [Handel, George Frideric]
  10. Allegro in C minor HWV 408 [Handel, George Frideric]
  11. Andante in A minor HWV 412 [Handel, George Frideric]

Additional Information