Concert Pieces for Viola and Piano

In stock

Concert Pieces for Viola and Piano

Edited by Kurt Sassmannshaus

Viola part & enclosed piano accompaniment

14 recital pieces presented in increasing order of difficulty

Wide range of styles included

To complement the Sassmannshaus Early Start on the Viola method, Bärenreiter offer a selection of recital pieces tailored to this educational concept.  This edition presents 14 pieces covering a wide stylistic spectrum, giving viola players a rich body of appealing concert pieces to choose from.
The works are arranged in increasing order of difficulty, the cornerstones being two works by Georg Eduard Goltermann; his technically simple Andante religioso and his demanding Adagio and Tarantella. Works by Kalliwoda, Fauré, Grieg, Dvořák, amongst others, are included.

The editor:
Kurt Sassmannshaus is a violinist and viola player, a professor of violin in Cincinnati (OH) and a promoter of violin teaching with projects in Germany, China and the United States.  He continues the work of his father Egon Sassmannshaus, who set new standards with the Sassmannshaus string methods.

Sassmannshaus, Kurt
Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Ballade [Grieg, Edvard]
  2. Erhebung und Trost (Elevation and Consolation) [Klengel, Julius]
  3. Notturno (nos. 2, 4, 6) [Kalliwoda, Johann B. W.]
  4. Sicilienne and Berceuse [Faure, Gabriel]
  5. Adagio and Tarantella [Goltermann, Georg]
  6. Rêverie [Wieniawski, Henryk ]
  7. Andante religioso Op.56 [Goltermann, Georg]
  8. La Verginella from La Governante [Bertoni, Ferdinando]
  9. Im Balladenton Op.65/5 [Grieg, Edvard]
  10. La Cinquantaine [Gabriel-Marie, Jean]
  11. Andante [Viotti, Giovanni Battista]
  12. Humoresque Op.101/7 [Dvorák, Antonín]

Additional Information