Concerto for Viola in E-flat major (reconstruction based on BWV 169, 49, 1053) (Viola & Piano)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

In stock

J S Bach Concerto for Viola in E-flat major (reconstruction based on BWV 169, 49, 1053) (Viola & Piano)

It has been possible to reconstruct this lost work because fortunately it had been preserved in the form of arrangements by Bach himself. With these arrangements we refer to the harpsichord concerto in E-flat major (BWV 1053) and three cantata movements with obligato organ.  The latter include the first movement ( Sinfonia ) and the second movement (Aria ) “ Stirb in mir , Welt” from the Cantata “ Gott soll allein mein Herze haben ” (BWV 169) and the third movement ( Sinfonia ) from the Cantata “ Ich geh und suche mit Verlangen ” (BWV 49).

In the past there were many attempts to reconstruct several works by Bach. However they were based on the content of the Old Bach Edition which required significant revision.

This reconstruction by Wilfried Fischer is based on a scholarly method which orientates itself on the handwritten sources of arrangements which Bach made himself for harpsichord (or respectively for organ).  All autographs of these arrangements have been preserved and clearly conclude that the original on which these are based is the Viola Concerto.

- Full score, parts (BA5149) and Viola & Piano reduction (BA5149-90) available for sale

Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Baroque Period