Concerto for Violin in C major (Hob.VIIa:1) (Violin & Piano)

Haydn, Joseph

In stock

Haydn Concerto for Violin in C major (Hob.VIIa:1) (Violin & Piano)

Joseph Haydn presumably wrote four violin concertos (Hob.VIIa:1-4) which were composed during his first years at the Esterházy court.  The concerto in C major Hob.VIIa:1, presented here, could have been composed at the earliest in 1761, the year Haydn was first appointed as, for the time being, second Kapellmeister, and at the latest in 1765, when the composer entered the work in the Entwurf-Katalog, (a catalogue Haydn began keeping in 1765) to which he added: “fatto per il Luigi” (“made for Luigi”).  Luigi  Tomasini (1741-1808) was the principal violinist of the Esterházy court orchestra, but also widely known as a virtuoso and a prolific composer.  He was close friends with Haydn.

In this Concerto in C major the soloist is accompanied purely by a string orchestra, a scoring which can be mastered easily, even by amateur ensembles.

Continuing Bärenreiter’s collaboration with the Henle publishing company in the areas of large vocal compositions, operas and symphonic works, the edition of this violin concerto is based on the Henle Complete Edition of the “Works of Joseph Haydn”.

The complete London and Paris symphonies as well as several “Sturm und Drang” symphonies are already available.  All works appear with a full score and performance material on sale in a large format.

- Urtext from the Henle Complete Edition of the “Works of Joseph Haydn”

- Charming violin concerto where the accompaniment can be also be mastered by amateurs

- Full score & parts (BA4678) available for sale

BA4678-90 / HN446
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information