Concerto for Violin in D major Op.61 (Critical Report)

Beethoven, Ludwig van

In stock

Beethoven Concerto for Violin in D major Op.61 Critical Report

Beethoven’s Concerto for Violin and Orchestra is one of the most famous works in the history of music.  Over the last 150 years it has been published in numerous editions and up to now, none of these really does justice to the work.  After detailed study of all sources this new edition, prepared by the outstanding Beethoven scholar Jonathan Del Mar, now presents Beethoven’s original slurring and articulation in the solo violin part, together with over 100 corrections in the orchestral parts.

The musical text has been freed of additions made over the decades by various editors and violinists.  The significance of Beethoven’s solo and tutti markings has also been clarified for the first time. 

The pioneering critical new edition will prove indispensable for all violinists as well as for orchestras and music libraries.

With Beethoven’s original slurring

Includes over 100 corrections in the orchestral parts

Contains an Urtext violin part and an additional violin part with fingering and bowing by Detlef Hahn

Separate critical commentary (Eng)

Del Mar, Jonathan
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information