Concerto for Violin in D major Op.77 (Study Score)

Brahms, Johannes

In stock

Brahms Concerto for Violin in D major Op. 77 Study Score

Johannes Brahms’s violin concerto, written for Joseph Joachim, has remained a standard work in concert programmes since its first performance in 1879.  Bärenreiter’s scholarly-critical edition, prepared by Clive Brown, reflects not only Brahms’s autograph score, solo part and piano reduction, but also the composer’s personal copies of the first edition score and orchestral parts.

The score, piano reduction, orchestral parts and a critical commentary (BA 9049) were published by Bärenreiter in autumn 2005; this material is now completed with the publication of the study score.
The excellent foreword (Eng/Ger), taken from the full score, is included in this study score.  It offers insight into the genesis of the composition and the working relationship between Brahms and Joachim.  An informative preface (Ger / Eng) with references to performance practice and a critical commentary are included in the edition.

- Study Score format 22.5 x 16.5cm

- First scholarly critical edition of this standard work

- Critical commentary (Eng)

- Insightful comments on performance practice

- An Urtext violin part and an additional violin part marked with fingering and bowing suggestions by Joseph Joachim

- Valuable cadenza brochure with cadenzas by Joachim, Halir, Heermann, Auer and Busoni

- Full score, crtitical commentary & parts (BA9049) and violin & piano reduction (BA9049-90) and study score (TP949) available for sale


Brown, Clive
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information