Concerto for Violin No.1 H 226 (Violin & Piano)

Martinu, Bohuslav

In stock

Martinu Concerto for Violin No.1 H 226 (Violin & Piano)

Bohuslav Martinu wrote his First Violin Concerto in Paris in 1932–33, this work having been commissioned by the violin virtuoso Samuel Dushkin.  However, it was never performed during the composer’s lifetime and was even considered lost after his death.  It was not until 1961 that musicologist and collector Hans Moldenhauer bought it from Boaz Piller, contrabassoonist of the Boston Symphony Orchestra.  Moldenhauer approached Czech violinist Josef Suk, who gave the world premiere of the work with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra under Georg Solti in October 1973.

This piano reduction is based on the musical text of the first edition.  The solo part has been revised by a leading Czech violinist and performer of Martinu’s music.

- Major violin concerto of the 20th century

- New Foreword by Martinu scholar Sandra Bergmannová (Cz/Eng/Ger)

- Performance material available for hire

- Full score available for sale (H5798)

Click here for an in-depth article in the Bärenreiter online magazine [t]akte

Solc, Karel
Baerenreiter UK

Additional Information

20th Century