Concerto for Violin No.2 H 293 (Violin & Piano)

Martinu, Bohuslav

In stock

Martinu Concerto for Violin No.2 H 293 (Violin & Piano)

After hearing the Boston Symphony Orchestra perform Martinu’s Symphony No. 1 in New York, Mischa Elman commissioned the composer to write a violin concerto for him.  Martinu thereupon composed his Second Violin Concerto in 1943.  That same year Elman played the solo part at the première, with Sergei Koussevitzky conducting the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

This piano reduction is based on the musical text of the first edition.  The solo part has been revised by a leading Czech violinist and performer of Martinu’s music.

- Major violin concerto of the 20th century

- New Foreword by Martinu scholar Sandra Bergmannová (Cz/Eng/Ger)

- Performance material available for hire

Click here for an in-depth article in the Bärenreiter online magazine [t]akte

Solc, Karel
Baerenreiter UK

Additional Information

20th Century