Concerto in E major Op.8/1: Spring from Four Seasons (Violin & Piano)

Vivaldi, Antonio

In stock

Vivaldi Concerto in E major Op.8/1: Spring from Four Seasons (Violin & Piano)
Offprint from Four Seasons Violin & Piano BA6994-90

With his "Spring" Vivaldi musically brings to sound what we associate with this season: chirping birds, babbling brooks, blooming meadows, a spirit of new beginnings.  The piece is preceded by a poem, the verses of which are assigned reference letters, which in turn can be found within the musical text and give very concrete indications of what is intended to be expressed in the music at the respective point. Provided with the characteristic drive of Vivaldi's Allegro movements, the piece is one of the top hits of classical music.

Bärenreiter presents this single edition as part of a series of popular works from its programme celebrating the 100th anniversary of the publishing house.  The Urtext edition constitutes an excerpt from BA06994-90 Antonio Vivaldi, Le Quattro Stagioni / The Four Seasons (piano reduction).  It was edited by Christopher Hogwood and is based on the Manchester manuscript, which originated in Vivaldi's circle and offers an alternative, in many cases more coherent version of these famous concertos compared with the first printing, published by Le Cene in Amsterdam in 1725.

Hogwood, Christopher
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Baroque Period