Concertos for Solo Instruments (Full Score, hardback)

Martinu, Bohuslav

Temporarily out of stock. Usually supplied within 28 days

Martinu Concertos for Solo Instruments (Full Score, hardback)

The fourth piano concerto of Bohuslav Martinů, Incantation (1955–1956), uses an uncommon two-movement structure.  It was written for the composer’s friend Rudolf Firkušný, who would perform the work from his manuscript copy until 1970, when the concerto received its first edition.  Fantasia concertante. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in B-flat (1957–1958) came about on the impetus of the Swiss pianist Margrit Weber; it is Martinů’s very last concert piece.  Unlike Incantation, the composer took part in the publication of the work.

This volume of The Bohuslav Martinů Complete Edition draws from the autographs and from period copies with Martinů’s direct interventions.  The edition also unveils a number of previously unknown details about the genesis of the works.

- The Bohuslav Martinu Complete Edition III/1/5

- First scholarly-critical edition 

- Foreword and Critical Report in English and Czech

- New findings about the genesis of the works and the circumstances of their first publication

- Assessment of early performance practice

Tabak, Ivana Kalina
Baerenreiter UK


  1. Incantation. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.4 H 358 [Martinu, Bohuslav]
  2. Fantasia Concertante. Concerto in B-flat major for Piano and Orchestra No.5 H 366 [Martinu, Bohuslav]

Additional Information

20th Century