Grande sestetto concertante for String Sextet (K.364) (Set of Parts)

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

In stock

Mozart Grande sestetto concertante for String Sextet (K.364) (Set of Parts)
based on the Sinfonia concertante K.364 for 2 Violins, 2 Violas and 2 Violoncellos

Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante for violin and viola, K.364 (320d), is his only complete surviving work in this genre.  He wrote it in 1779 after returning from Paris and Mannheim .

For two decades it was known only in a few copyists’ manuscripts.  The first edition did not appear until 1802.  The work achieved great popularity that same year, particularly the arrangements for piano four-hands and piano trio.

This arrangement for string sextet, dating from 1808, is interesting not only for its unusual scoring but also for the way the two concertante instruments interact with the other strings.

Our edition revives this arrangement after almost two centuries, drawing primarily on the sole surviving source: the first edition in parts, published by the Vienna Stamperia Chimica in 1808.

The editor, Christopher Hogwood , recounts the history of the work and the particulars of the arrangement in a trilingual preface (Eng ./ Ger./ Cz .) and a critical report.  Our new edition takes into account both the original print and the text from the “New Mozart Edition”.

New edition of a historical transcription for string sextet (1808)

Available in print again after almost two centuries

Also suitable for chamber orchestra

Detailed preface and critical report (Eng./Ger./ Cz .).  Includes facsimiles

Full score (BA9504) and set of parts (BA9504-22) available for sale

Separate string parts also available

Hogwood, Christopher
Baerenreiter UK

Additional Information