L'Arlésienne Suite No.1 arranged for Woodwind Quintet

Bizet, Georges

In stock

Bizet L'Arlésienne Suite No.1 arranged for Woodwind Quintet (Score & Parts)
Flute, Oboe, Clarinet (in B-flat), Horn, Bassoon

George Bizet’s “L’Arlesienne” Suite No.1, taken from his theatre music to a stage work by Alphonse Daudet, was arranged by the composer for larger orchestra only weeks after the premiere in autumn 1872.

The suite has been a success from its very first performance.  Evoking the folk-like sounds of southern France, combined with masterly orchestration, Bizet captured the “feel” of France in his four movement suite.

Joachim Linckelmann’s arrangement for woodwind quintet captures this powerful music in a chamber ensemble, leaving the listener to wonder if Bizet had not made the arrangement himself!

- Score and parts

- Valuable addition to woodwind quintet repertoire

Linckelmann, Joachim
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Wind Quintet