Legende for Organ and Brass Quartet Op.55a (Score & Parts)

Bunk, Gerard

Temporarily out of stock. Usually supplied within 28 days

Bunk Legende for Organ and Brass Quartet Op.55a (Score & 9 Parts)

As a 20th century composer, Gerard Bunk developed a distinctive musical style comparable perhaps to that of Max Reger or Sigfrid Karg-Elert.  In addition to Bunk’s large-scale organ work “Legende” Op.29 and its symphonic version Op.29II, there is a further well-known “Legende” Op.55b written for organ and string orchestra (or string quartet) which was composed in 1945.

This edition offers the earlier version of this work, dating from 1914, in its original instrumentation for organ and brass quartet.  In order to facilitate performance, the sketchily notated score is carefully supplemented by performance markings from the string version.

What Albert Schweitzer praised in the earlier “Legende”, “the calm and vivid layout of the complete work”, is also recognisable in Bunk’s later composition: the catchy, modestly beautiful theme alongside the clear musical form of this “Legende” for organ and brass quartet.

- Scored for 2 Flugelhorns, French horn, Trombone

- Attractive chamber music for brass with organ

- Edited by the composer’s grandson

- Also suitable for amateur ensembles

Score with 9 parts:

Part 1 in C (flugelhorn, trumpet)
Part 1 in B-flat (flugelhorn, trumpet)

Part 2 in C (flugelhorn,trumpet)
Part 2 in B-flat (flugelhorn, trumpet)

Part 3 in C (horn, trombone, tenor horn, euphonium)
Part 3 in B-flat (trombone, tenor horn, euphonium)
Part 3 in F (horn)

Part 4 in C (trombone, bass trombone, euphonium, F-tuba)
Part 4 in B-flat (bartitone horn, euphonium)

Boecker, Jan , Hesselmann, Constantin
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

20th Century