Piano Quintet in F minor Op.34 (Score & Parts)

Brahms, Johannes

In stock

Brahms Piano Quintet in F minor Op.34 (Score & Parts)
for Piano, two Violins, Viola & Violoncello

Bärenreiter’s scholarly-critical edition of Brahms’ popular Quintet in F minor for piano and strings contains everything a cutting edge Urtext edition is meant to offer.  It presents a solid and well researched musical text based on Brahms’ autograph as well as the first edition, and draws on the autograph of the two-piano version (composed six years later) for purposes of comparison.  The edition also contains a discussion of the work’s historical context and performance practice as well as a comprehensive Critical Commentary with an evaluation of the sources and alternative readings.

The editor, Daniel Boomhower, deals with the conflicting readings between the string parts in the autograph engraver’s copy and those found in small print in the first published score as well as in the separate parts for that edition.  Relevant readings from the two-piano version appear in the appendix of the Critical Commentary.

- New Bärenreiter Urtext edition

- Exhaustive study of conflicting readings

- Notes on performance practice (Eng/Ger)

- Informative Foreword (Eng/Ger) and Critical Commentary (Eng)

Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Chamber Ensemble