Piano Sonatas III : Late Sonatas

Schubert, Franz

In stock

Schubert Piano Sonatas III : Late Sonatas

Volume III of Schubert’s Piano Sonatas includes the tuneful, dance-like Sonata in G major D 894 (1827), sometimes called the “Fantasie” sonata, as well as the three great sonatas in C minor, A major and B-flat major (D 958, 959 and 960), which were conceived as a triptych and constitute the composer’s greatest contribution to the piano sonata genre.  The works pay homage to the three late sonatas of Beethoven.

This scholarly-critical Urtext edition is based on the definitive musical text of the “New Schubert Edition” and presents the works in a spacious new engraving with practical page turns.  It includes an informative Foreword and detailed notes (Ger/Eng) on central performance practice issues such as the use of pedals and Schubert’s distinctive manner of notating accents.  It is rounded off by a Critical Commentary (Eng) with performance-related alternative readings. Schubert’s drafts for individual sonata movements can be accessed on the Bärenreiter website.

- Edited on the basis of the “New Schubert Edition”

- Access to Schubert’s drafts on the Bärenreiter website

- Includes valuable notes on performance practice during Schubert’s day (Ger/Eng)

Litschauer, Walburga
Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Sonata in G major D 894 [Schubert, Franz]
  2. Sonata in C minor D 958 [Schubert, Franz]
  3. Sonata in A major D 959 [Schubert, Franz]
  4. Sonata in B-flat major D 960 [Schubert, Franz]

Additional Information