Quintet for Horn in E-flat major (K.407)

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

In stock

Mozart Quintet for Horn in E-flat major (K.407) (Parts)
for Horn, Violin, 2 Violas, Double Bass (Violoncello)

The Horn Quintet K.407 was probably written in Vienna toward the end of 1782 in conjunction with other pieces for horn (including the Horn Concerto, K.412/386b) which Mozart composed for Ignaz Leutgeb (or Leitgeb), an estimable horn player formerly in the employ of the Salzburg court orchestra.

Since 1777 Leutgeb had been living in what Leopold Mozart called a "tiny little snailshell" in a Viennese suburb, where he was the proprietor of a cheese shop.  He maintained friendly relations with Mozart until the latter's death, often serving as the butt of his pranks.  As late as 1800 Leutgeb possessed a non-autograph manuscript copy of the Horn Quintet, the original autograph having probably been consigned at some earlier date to the publisher Johann Anton Andre from the holdings of Constanze Mozart.

- Urtext of the New Mozart Edition

- Parts (BA4708) and study score format 22.5 x 16.5cm (TP13) available for sale


Schmid, Ernst Fritz
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Chamber Ensemble