Sacred Choral Music a cappella

Reger, Max

In stock

Reger Sacred Choral Music a cappella

2016 marks the first centenary of the death of Max Reger.  In addition to his best-known field of creativity – organ music – his choral compositions form another major part of his oeuvre.

This edition contains a selection of his sacred a cappella choral works.  Their scoring, level of difficulty and length make them ideal for choirs who are wary of tackling the large-scale Op.110 motets.  For the first time, the selection of works includes the previously unpublished Acht Grabgesänge (1900).  The pieces are arranged in chronological order, culminating in the well-known cycle of Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914).

The Editor
Michael Chizzali has been a scholarly assistant at the Institute of Musicology in Weimar-Jena (Germany) since 2014. His dissertation on Reger’s contemporary, the Tyrolean composer Josef Gasser (1873-1957), was published in Innsbruck in 2014.

• All extant sources consulted
• Edition for the first centenary of Reger’s death
• Cross-section of Reger’s music for a cappella choir
• Foreword (Ger/Eng) and Critical Commentary (Eng)

Chizzali, Michael
Baerenreiter Germany
Mixed choir (SATB)


  1. Tantum ergo Sacramentum (1895) [Reger, Max]
  2. Maria Himmelsfreud! (1899-1900) [Reger, Max]
  3. Acht Grabgesänge (ca. 1900) [Reger, Max]
  4. Acht Marienlieder op. 61d (1901) [Reger, Max]
  5. Sechs Trauergesänge op. 61g (1901) [Reger, Max]
  6. Palmsonntagmorgen (1902) [Reger, Max]
  7. Vier Kirchengesänge (1904) [Reger, Max]
  8. Easter motet: Lasset uns den Herren preisen (1911) [Reger, Max]
  9. Abschiedslied (1914) [Reger, Max]
  10. Acht geistliche Gesänge op. 138 (1914) [Reger, Max]

Additional Information

20th Century
Mixed Voices
German, Latin