Short Sacred Concertos Book 2: Bringt her dem Herren; Ich danke dem Herren; Was hast du vewirket (SW

Schütz, Heinrich

In stock

Schütz Kleine geistliche Konzerte (Small Sacred Concertos) II (SWV 283, SWV 284, SWV 307)
Singing Score & Basso continuo part

The collection of "Small Sacred Concertos,' by Heinrich Schütz consists of two parts: the first was published in Leipzig in 1636 and contains 24 concertos, the second appeared in Dresden in 1639 and comprises 31 pieces.

Small Sacred Concertos were at all times amongst the most popular works of the Dresden Court Kapellmeister, as is already shown by the numerous copies and reprints.  We are of the opinion that these little gems are of particular interest to us today.  The period of the Thirty Years War and that of our World Wars created the same type of receptive attitude for these works and similar popularity.

They have become indispensable for the pedagogic education of our young singers; they unite a limited technical difficulty with the means to a secure perception of style.  The concise form of the musical language makes these small concertos suitable for use in many ways, so that they are to us also models for solo singing in church service.  The body of solo voices extends to a quintet in this collection.  This provides a welcome opportunity for reviving the art of the solo ensemble which we have almost lost sight of.

Ehmann, Wilhelm , Hoffmann, Hans
Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Bringt her dem Herren SWV 283 for Alto solo, Basso continuo [Schütz, Heinrich]
  2. Ich danke dem Herrn SWV 284 for Alto solo, Basso continuo [Schütz, Heinrich]
  3. Was hast du verwirket SWV 307 for Alto solo, Basso continuo [Schütz, Heinrich]

Additional Information