Sonatas for Violin and Piano: Early Viennese Sonatas

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

In stock

Mozart Sonatas for Violin and Piano: Early Viennese Sonatas

The Sonatas by Mozart for piano and violin in this volume can be divided clearly into two groups.  The first and more important group contains the sonatas K.379, 376, 377 and 380, which were all composed in the spring and summer of 1781 during Mozart’s first year in Vienna.  The second group consists of unfinished works, some of which were completed by Maximilian Stadler.  For this reason they have been relegated in this edition to the Appendix.  With the exception of the fragment K.372 (Appendix II, 1) which is dated 24 March 1781, the other fragments K.404 (Appendix I), 403 and 402 (Appendix II, 2–3) were probably written in August or September 1782 in Vienna.

- Urtext of the New Mozart Edition

Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Sonata in G major K.379 (373a) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  2. Sonata in F major K.376 (374d) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  3. Sonata in F major K.377 (374e) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  4. Sonata in E-flat major K.380 (374f) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  5. Andante und Allegretto in C major K.404 (385d) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  6. First movement of a Sonata in B-flat major K.372 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  7. Sonata in C major K.403 (385c) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  8. Andante and Fugue of a Sonata in A major K.402 (385e) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]

Additional Information