Sonatas for Violin and Piano

Mendelssohn, Felix

In stock

Mendelssohn Sonatas for Violin and Piano

This is the first Urtext edition of Mendelssohn’s Sonatas for Violin and Piano.  It contains the early Sonata in F major of 1820 and the Sonata in F minor of 1823, which the 14-year-old composer began with an extended solo recitative for the violin.  The edition also includes two versions of the F major sonata of 1838 which Mendelssohn began revising in 1839, though this was restricted to the revision of a major part of the first movement.

These works, similar in difficulty to Franz Schubert’s Sonatinas, are published here in a scholarly-practical edition.  The critical edition contains all Mendelssohn’s complete sonatas for these instruments.  Hoshino’s Critical Commentary offers valuable information on the history and genesis of the compositions and their sources.  Several facsimile pages complete this important new edition.

- First Urtext edition of Mendelssohn’s Violin Sonatas (including facsimile pages)

- With an Urtext violin part, together with a second version of the violin part including fingerings and bowings by Takeshi Kiriyama

- Moderate technical standard

Hoshino, Hiromi , Kiriyama, Takeshi
Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Sonata in F major 1820 [Mendelssohn, Felix]
  2. Sonata in F minor Op.4 1823 [Mendelssohn, Felix]
  3. Sonata in F major (First Version) 1838 [Mendelssohn, Felix]
  4. Sonata in F major (Second Version) 1839 [Mendelssohn, Felix]

Additional Information