Souvenir de Munich for Recorder Quartet

Chabrier, Emanuel

In stock

Chabrier Souvenir de Munich for Recorder Quartet

Score with parts for Descant, Treble, Tenor and Bass Recorder

Emanuel Chabrier (1841 - 1894) was a masterly pianist and highly inventive composer...with a staunch commitment to Richard Wagner.  He was also fond of satire and both these traits are amply demonstrated in  Souvenirs de Munich, a set of comic quadrilles written in 1885-86 shortly after hearing Tristan und Isolde in Munich.

Lurking behind the rhythms of the standard quadrille form are voices and motifs from Tristan und Isolde.  Originally written for piano duet and performed privately they were discovered only after his death and not published until 1911.

Our arrangement for recorder quartet should be played with the same spirit of light-hearted fun!

Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information