Suite for Violin and Piano Op.82

Schlee, Thomas Daniel

Temporarily out of stock. Usually supplied within 28 days

Schlee Suite for Violin and Piano Op.82

A suite whose movements always deliver something other than what they seem to promise. But throughout, the two instruments and respectively their players act like two people in very specific situations:

I.: The opening movement is reserved for the piano; the initially earnest, solitary cantilena intensifies creating expectation. Suddenly
II.: the violin sounds. Its moving figures replace the now silent piano, also soloistically.
III. „Passacaglia“: The title is taken literally – the two instruments/persons encounter each other in the street. Two musical characters who meet at a specific point, recognize each other, but move on again, each one by itself.
IV. „Rondo“: The two of them dance together. Before me, I saw people dancing the Sardana – a round dance – in front of the cathedral of Barcelona. Four themes in different time signatures circle ceaselessly between the two instruments.
V. „Fuga“: At last, regardless, panic flight – again the title is taken literally ... Human, only too human …

- Virtuosic concert work

- Demanding violin and piano parts

- Worthwhile addition to the chamber music repertoire

Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

21st Century