The Fiddler's Child (Full Score, hardback)

Janacek, Leos

In stock

Janacek The Fiddler's Child (Full Score, hardback)

New Janacek Edition, Series D, Volume 6

Performance material available for hire.  Paperback score (H6798) available for sale.

Composed 1912-1014, The Fiddler’s Child is a mature work, a dramatic ballad for solo Violin and Orchestra. It is scored for Flute (2), Oboe (2), Clarinet (in B-flat) (2), Bass clarinet, Bassoon (2), Horn (3), Trumpet (2), Trombone (3), Tuba, Harp, Timpani, Drums, Strings.

Over the years Janáček’s œuvre has increasingly received the recognition it so richly merits and performances of his works are becoming more and more frequent. This development is, however, offset by a manuscript tradition so disorderly that some of Janáček’s works continue, as before, to be played in versions which are heavily adapted, corrupt or otherwise contrary to the composer’s intentions. Thus, a critical edition of Janáček’s music is indispensable for scholars and performers alike.

This editon presents an authentic printed text based on all available sources for each work. In addition to the musical text, each volume also contains a critical report (Czech / German), a rendition of deleted or rejected versions, and a comprehensive appendix of facsimiles.



Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

20th Century