Triple Concerto Amin BWV1044 (Full Score)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

In stock

J S Bach Concerto for Harpsichord, Flute, Violin, Strings and Basso continuo in A minor (BWV 1044) (Triple Concerto) (Full Score)

The Concerto in A minor (BWV 1044) is often referred to as the “Triple Concerto” and may have been written by Bach for a public concert at Zimmermann’s coffee house in Leipzig.  The “Triple Concerto” has been composed for orchestra and three soloists (harpsichord, flute and violin), the precise solo instrumentation of the Brandenburg Concerto No.5.

This critical Urtext edition is based on the second printing of the “New Bach Edition” (NBA) volume edited by Dietrich Kilian.  He examines the complex genesis of the work from Bach’s earlier compositions – e.g. from the Prelude and Fugue for Harpsichord (BWV 894) or the Trio Sonata for Organ (BWV 527).  Bach’s autograph is lost, but copies by Johann Friedrich Agricola and Johann Gottfried Müthel have been handed down and it is these sources to which the editor refers.

- Urtext edition based on the corresponding “New Bach Edition” (NBA) volume in its second printing (BA 5065)

- Concertato harpsichord part with a realized basso continuo in the tutti passages

- Almost identical instrumentation to the Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 (BWV 1050: BA 5112, BA 5205) – an ideal combination

Kilian, Dietrich
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Baroque Period