Septet in E-flat major Op.20 (Parts)

Beethoven, Ludwig van

In stock

Beethoven Septet in E-flat major Op.20 (Parts)
for Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn, Violin, Viola, Violoncello and Double Bass

With his septet for clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello and double bass, Beethoven created a key chamber music work for larger ensembles.  He composed the six-movement septet at the same time as his Symphony No.1 and premiered the two works together in April 1800 at his first benefit concert in Vienna.

This Urtext edition is based on a meticulous comparison of the autograph, the first edition parts and score as well as a set of parts in the Roudnice Lobkowicz Collection in Prague, which has been used for the first time for a scholarly-critical edition.  In particular, the precise evaluation of the autograph has made it possible to correct numerous discrepancies and accurately reproduce Beethoven’s notation.

- New Urtext edition in which the discrepancies in previous editions have been corrected

- New sources taken into account

- With a Foreword (Eng/Ger) in the study score (TP00944) by Misha Donat on the genesis of the work

- Set of parts (BA10944) and study score (TP944) available for sale

Del Mar, Jonathan
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information

Chamber Ensemble