Six Suites for Violoncello solo (BWV 1007-1012) (Synoptic Facsimile Volume)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

In stock

J S Bach Six Suites for Violoncello solo (BWV 1007-1012) (Synoptic Facsimile Volume)

The suites are the very core of cello repertoire, with their timeless beauty accompanying cellists from their student years throughout the height of their professional careers.

Considering the works’ significance, the great number of editions in existence is not surprising.  However, the composer’s autograph has not been preserved and is considered lost.  This circumstance creates an exceptional challenge many editors faced over the years. The four autograph sources still in existence and the first print from 1824 show numerous small deviations, especially in terms of articulation markings and phrasing.

This facsimile edition is the first to juxtapose all four autograph sources as well as the first print (along with Bach’s own arrangement of Suite No.V for lute).  For the first time, readers can compare a specific section in all sources at one glance.  This allows for a straightforward and immediate consideration of all sources.

- Synopsis of the most important sources and the first print

- Enables every reader to easily compare

- Never before has direct involvement with the sources been so easy

Talle, Andrew
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information