Symphony No.9 in E minor Op.95 (New World) (Full Score)

Dvorák, Antonín

In stock

Dvorak Symphony No.9 in E minor Op.95 (New World) (Full Score)

The “New World” Symphony, a jewel of the symphonic repertoire, is finally available in a dependable scholarly-critical edition.

Yet again Jonathan Del Mar has managed to untangle a complex network of surviving sources, some of which have never been taken into account before.  Among them are several musical examples in Dvorák’s hand known to have been used in a lecture he held at Columbia University shortly after the première given by the New York Philharmonic under the baton of Anton Seidl.

Del Mar thus sheds light, for example, on the frequently debated rhythm of the horn entrance in bar 4 of the opening movement and illuminates Dvorák’s vague instructions on the use of mutes in the 2nd movement.

- Groundbreaking Urtext edition taking new sources into consideration

- Offers solutions for controversial musical questions

- With an informative Foreword (Eng/Cz/Ger) and a detailed Critical Commentary (Eng)

- Full score, parts (BA10419) and critical commentary (BA10419-40) available for sale

Click here for an in-depth article in the Bärenreiter online magazine [t]akte

Del Mar, Jonathan
Baerenreiter Germany

Additional Information