Two Trio Sonatas Op.5 for Two Violins and Basso continuo

Handel, George Frideric

In stock

Handel Two Trio Sonatas Op.5 for Two Violins and Basso continuo
No.7 in B-flat major (HWV 402); No.1 in A major (HWV 396)

These sonatas were first printed in 1739 by Handel’s London publisher, John Walsh.  Only the fifth and sixth of the seven are preserved in autograph, and even these in an unfortunately incomplete state.  Handel’s six trio sonatas, Op.2, which were published about 1722 in Amsterdam, were all representative of the form of the Italian sonata da chiesa.  In contrast, his Op.5 is characterised by a great variety of different types of movement, arranged in no set order.  One finds the pairing of a slow movement with a quick one, such as is typical of the Italian church sonata, but this also occurs in the style of the French overture.  One meets the forms of the fugue and the chaconne.  But the special charm of the collection undoubtedly lies in the combination of these relatively weighty, strict forms with a profusion of lighter dances – Allemande, Sarabande, Gigue, Gavotte, Minuet.

They should be assured of the same popularity today as they enjoyed with Handel’s contemporaries, as the many editions and arrangements of such pieces show.

- Urtext of the Halle Handel Edition

- Score & parts

Baerenreiter Germany


  1. Trio Sonata in B-flat major Op.5/7 (HWV 402) [Handel, George Frideric]
  2. Trio Sonata in A major Op.5/1 (HWV 396) [Handel, George Frideric]

Additional Information